This is a guide to the collections of the St. Louis Museum as of the year 1859. It is an update to the earlier catalog of 1856. It includes an introduction by the museum's curator John Bates, statements on the Zeuglodon skeleton excavated by Albert C. Koch, the contents of 51 cases of stuffed birds and other animals, lists of statues and paintings, and other miscellaneous holdings. There is also a statement about the two Egyptian mummies on display previously owned by Joseph Smith of Nauvoo, Illinois.
James Green published this business directory shortly after the Great Fire of 1849. The fire destroyed much of St. Louis’ business district and made Green’s previous directory obsolete since many businesses and people had to relocate. The directory contains a listing of trades and professions listed alphabetically by occupation type, an alphabetical street and ward listing, as well as a listing of business advertising cards. In addition to the directory, it contains an Almanac to the city of St. Louis for the year 1850, and a detailed account of many local events of 1849, including the Great Fire and the Asiatic cholera outbreak.
Mississippi - Ohio River sidewheeler. The KEYSTONE STATE first was built in Freedom, PA in 1850. She ran 337 tons and had hull measurements of 234' x 26' x 5.7'. She originally ran in the Pittsburgh - Cincinnati trade and later in the St. Louis - New Orleans trade. She was destroyed by fire at Florence, Il on May 31, 1855. The image bears a possible signature of "A Dave" or "A. Dare" which is transcribed on one of the parcels on the main deck, just in front of the stacks., Graphite drawing on paper, undated, c. 1852. Paper size, 5 9/16 x 14 1/2" (140 x 368 mm).
This document contains the thirteenth annual report of the board of directors of the St. Louis Mercantile Library Association and the eighth annual report of the board of directors of the Mercantile Library Hall Company. It was compiled in January of 1859 for the year 1858.
This document contains the ninth annual report of the St. Louis Mercantile Library Association and the fourth annual report of the Mercantile Library Hall Company for the year 1854. It was published the following January of 1855 along with the inaugural address of the Reverend William Homes at the opening of the library's new building.
This document contains the 1858 annual report for the St. Louis Mercantile Library Association and the 1858 seventh annual report of the Board of Directors of the Mercantile Library Hall Company. There is also a fragment of Auguste Chouteau's Journal of the founding of St. Louis translated from the French by J. Givin Brown and J. Wilmer Stith.
This document contains the 1858 annual report for the St. Louis Mercantile Library Association and the 1858 ninth annual report of the Board of Directors of the Mercantile Library Hall Company. The cover is mislabeled stating the eighth, but the ninth is inside.
This document contains the eighth annual report of the St. Louis Mercantile Library Association and the third annual report of the Mercantile Library Hall Company for the year 1853. It was published following annual meetings in January of 1854.
A business directory distributed to hotels, railroad stations, reading rooms, and steamers for the use of travelers. It pairs descriptions of major cities in the United States with illustrated advertisements for businesses, including St. Louis.
This map, plotted out by Norbury Wayman, shows the various locations of steamboat lines and related companies on the St. Louis levee, detailing three periods of time; before 1865; 1865 - 1900; and 1900 - 1953. Lines and companies are donated by name, location and years of operation. Nearby streets are mapped as well, for easy frame of reference. Scale in feet: 100 ft. = 1 inch.
A four page letter that William Charles Redfield wrote to his brother, James Starr Redfield, after a 300-mile steamboat trip on the Mississippi traveling from Dubuque, Iowa to St. Paul, Minnesota. The letter documents the itinerary of the trip and several side trips of Mr. Redfield and his family. Mr. Redfield also explains to his brother how and when to meet up with him when they begin their journey home. Mr. Redfield discusses the growth of towns along the Mississippi River and his amazement at the success of farming west of Lake Erie.
William Charles Redfield was born on March 26, 1789 in Middletown, Connecticut. Mr. Redfild was self-educated in meteorology and the law of storms, specifically directionality of winds in hurricanes, and later received an honorary degree from Yale in 1839. Mount Redfield in Essex County, New York is named for Mr. Redfield after he organized and was a member of the first expedition to Mount Marcy in 1837. Mr. Redfield was also one of the founders and the first President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 1848. He became the first American expert on fossil fish. Mr. Redfield died on February 12, 1857 in New York City.