Bill of lading for shipment on the steamboat Tennessee for delivery of goods to Jim White at Clifton, Tennessee. Goods were transported from Paducah, Kentucky, September 16, 1898. M. Michael & Bro. Co., wholesale harness and sadlery, buggies, carts, etc.
The ninth volume of Gould's Blue Books, this directory contains the names of the most prominent householders and businesses in the city of St. Louis and suburban areas, as well as residents from Alton, Edwardsville, St. Charles and Carlinville for the year 1891. Residents and businesses are arranged alphabetically by name and street. In addition to the directory, it contains rosters of social clubs and instructions concerning proper etiquette.
The sixteenth volume of Gould's Blue Books, this directory contains the names of the most prominent householders and businesses in the city of St. Louis and surrounding suburbs, as well as residents from Alton, St. Charles and Carlinville for the year 1898. Residents and businesses are arranged alphabetically by name and street. In addition to the directory, it contains rosters of social clubs and instructions concerning proper etiquette.
This directory contains an introduction featuring statistics related to growth and finances, followed by an index to advertisements and business headings, a street directory, a St. Louis City residential and business directory, and a city and county record listing civic and social institutions for the year 1893.
Bill of lading for shipment on the steamboat Sunshine for delivery of 1 box of saddlery to W. H. Huffman at Caruthersville, Missouri. Goods were transported from Paducah, Kentucky, September 13, 1898. M. Michael & Bro. Co., wholesale harness and sadlery, buggies, carts, etc.
At left is the way Frankie Baker appeared back in 1899 when she shot Allen (Johnny) Brit, the murder on which she claims the famous Frankie and Johnny ballad was based. At the right is the way Frankie appeared yesterday when she arrived in St. Louis to press her $200,000 character defamation suit against a film company for a movie version of the murder. (Feb. 13, 1942), Unheralded then and unknown today, a turn-of-the-century black St. Louis musician took the Targee Street boarding house shooting of Albert (or Allen) Britt and created an epic tragedy-ballad of star-crossed lovers. (Feb. 20, 1979)
Bill of lading from the M. Michael & Bro. Co. of Paducah, Kentucky, for 1 box saddlery, 3 sacks collars, 1 bundle hames, and 1 package whips. Delivery by the M. Michael & Bro. Co., wholesale harness and saddlery, buggies, carts, etc. to St. Francis, Arkansas. July 19th, 1898.
This promotional directory for the year the 1895 features a history of St. Louis, a listing and description of major businesses and industries operating in St. Louis, and photographs of landmarks and buildings.
Photograph of the St. Nicholas Hotel on Locust Street between Eighth and Ninth Streets. The building was originally designed by Louis Sullivan and built in 1893. It was redesigned and expanded after a fire in 1905 and ultimately demolished in 1974. It was later known as the Victoria Building.
The Tower Grove Dairy, located at 2922 Oregon Avenue, St. Louis, circa 1894. Featured in this photo are Mrs. Anna Rumping-Albers, Margaret Nienaber, Nora Nienaber, Harry Knobbe, Anna Nienaber Knobbe, August Knobbe Jr., Margaret Knobbe, and August Knobbe. The dairy eventually went out of business in 1920. Photograph provided to the St. Louis Mercantile Library by JoAnne (Knobbe) Behm.
The State of Kansas was a big carrier built at Madison, Indiana in 1890. Her dimensions were: 252 x 52.5 x 6.0 feet. She ran in the St. Louis and Cincinnati trade. Captain Don A. Marr was her master. On December 18, 1899, enroute from Memphis to Cincinnati, she burned while lying at the wharf at New Madrid, Missouri. She was a total loss; cause of fire unknown. The vessel was valued at $30,000 but insured for only $20,000. The cargo, valued at $60,000 was damaged about $55,000.
20x16 in photograph labeled "Roof Garden U.T. Blg: 1894." The back reads "From Bartlett, Stix Law Firm / Jan 13, 1964." The image is of people sitting at tables in a glass enclosure filled with plants.
The Eagle Boat Store in 1895. At that time a large figurehead, seen at the right, stood beside the door. Where the figurehead came from and where it went is a mystery. It may have ben from the Steamer Lady Gay which sank in 1870.
The Eagle Boat Store was founded in 1839 according to lettering on picture of Ward and Brady Boat Store. Lockwood and Wider sold to Capt. James Ward whose name appears first in 1871 directory. Ward and Brady Boat Store until... when Capt. Ward bought out Brady. James Ward and Son, until 1895 (when no longer in directory). Eagle Boat Store Co. 1895. Moved from 517 N. Levee (foot of Vine St.) in the 1939 land clearance for the Jefferson National Expansion Memorial. The new store was located at 805 N. Wharf Street.
This Gazetteer features an alphabetical listing of villages, towns, and cities in the state of Missouri for the years 1893 and 1894. The listing contains the name of each place accompanied by a short description of its location, principle railways, mail services, and primary exports. Beneath each entry is located an alphabetical business directory. In addition to the alphabetical listing, businesses are arranged in a classified directory., The digitization of this directory was made possible through the support of the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act as administered by the Missouri State Library, a division of the Office of the Secretary of State.