The Sporty Days was a double deck, combination ferry and packet boat. She was built on the river bank at New Madrid, Missouri, in 1927 by Dick Richardson for John Kirtz, her owner and operator. The dimensions of her wood hull, with a scow bow, were 60 x 26 x 4 feet. Width overall, 30 feet; draught about two feet. She had but one stack and one tubular boiler about 12 feet long and 36 inches in diameter. Her two engines were especially made in Paducha, Kentucky, with a 4-inch bore and 4-foot stroke. The stern paddle wheel was about 12 feet in diameter and 8 feet long. It had ten buckets. Although used as a ferry boat on many occasions during the days of prohibition she made trips to St. Louis. It is reported that her owner returned with suit cases of currency which was deposited in the local bank at New Madrid. She was pulled out on the bank in the winter of 1937 to avoid being crushed by ice. She was never returned to teh river and is rotting awaying out on the bank at New Madrid. This is 1948. Her owner died in poverty on the streets of New Madrid.
From the last St. Louis owned tourist Str. GOLDEN EAGLE, which struck rock bottom 80 miles South of St. Louis May 18, 1947. Passengers and crew left safely. The boat broke up, a total loss. The PILOT HOUSE is now in the River Room of the Jefferson Memorial in Forest Park.
The Czech Sokol Ladies unit of the Red Cross at the Czechoslovak Society of America's National Hall in St. Louis on February 14, 1943. Donated to the St. Louis Mercantile Library by the Gymnastics Association Sokol.
Eagle Packet Company coal book from 1931 - 1945. Records Eagle company coal sales as well as balance sheets for the company's labor, drayage, and cargo from various ports such as Saint Louis, Alton, Grafton, Mozier, Louisiana, Keokuk, Ste. Genevieve, Chester and Quincy, among others. Some pages are missing.
This work was made for the Burlington Lines beginning in January of 1946. It was revised in 1951 and issued again in 1954. It provided instructions to engineers and firemen in the care and operation of locomotives. Mastery of these instructions helped firemen maintain their positions and gain promotion to the rank of engineer. Engineers and firemen were required to carry this book with them while on the job.
The thirteenth annual Get-Together of the Czechoslovak Society of America, 1949. The Get-Together took place at National Hall located on Dolman and Allen avenues. National Hall was built in 1890, and it was the home of the lodges of several Czech benevolent organizations, including what is now CSA Fraternal Life which was previously known as the Czechoslovak Society of America. The National Hall was torn down in the 1960s due to interstate highway construction. This image was donated to the St. Louis Mercantile Library by the Gymnastic Association Sokol.