The Jewel Box at Forest Park, circa 1955. The Jewel Box is a display greenhouse located at the intersection of Wells and McKinley Drives in St. Louis. The building was first opened in 1936 and underwent major renovations in 2002. Donated to the St. Louis Mercantile Library by Gerald R. Massie and the Massie family.
This work was made for the Burlington Lines beginning in January of 1946. It was revised in 1951 and issued again in 1954. It provided instructions to engineers and firemen in the care and operation of locomotives. Mastery of these instructions helped firemen maintain their positions and gain promotion to the rank of engineer. Engineers and firemen were required to carry this book with them while on the job.
CARDINAL PRESIDENT GUSSIE BUSCH PAID HIS FIRST VISIT to the Red Birds' clubhouse in St. Louis last night to congratulate the players on their successful trip. With Busch, seated on trunk, are, from the left in front, Stan Musial, Wally Moon and Del Ennis. In back, from the left, are Eddie Kasko, Ken Boyer, Alvin Dark, Executive Vice President Dick Meyer, Don Blasingame, Larry Jackson and General Manager Frank Lane.
This map, plotted out by Norbury Wayman, shows the various locations of steamboat lines and related companies on the St. Louis levee, detailing three periods of time; before 1865; 1865 - 1900; and 1900 - 1953. Lines and companies are donated by name, location and years of operation. Nearby streets are mapped as well, for easy frame of reference. Scale in feet: 100 ft. = 1 inch.
Patrons enjoy themselves at the bar in the National Hall of the Czechoslovak Society of America, circa 1950. The bar was an important source of income for the management and operation of the National Hall. Donated to the St. Louis Mercantile Library by the Gymnastic Association Sokol.
BOB BURNES, SPORTS EDITOR, of The St. Louis Globe-Democrat annd (sic) KMOX Radio sportscaster interviews tennis star Pancho Segura. Burnes regularly interviews the nation's leading sports figures on his early program.
Jimmy Moore, left, and his brother Freddy, who lived on Hunt Avenue, try to cool off on July 14, 1954. The day's temperature was a record 115 degrees, making it the hottest day ever in St. Louis history. Here, the Moore boys enjoy what they called 'The Original Water Park.' Photograph donated by J. R. Moore.
Publication of a meeting held in 1951 by the Freight Traffic Department of the Chesapeake and Ohio Railway Company. It includes a map of the Chesapeake District, a map of the Pere Marquette District, miles of road operated, expenditures made for improvements & new equipment, revenue tons of freight originated and received and connections, loaded cars interchanged, freight car and locomotive purchases and ownership, five years in review, merchandise revenues, and geographical, historical, and other information.