Published in 1875, this directory contains a condensed history of Missouri beginning with Spanish settlement in Florida, descriptions of counties, towns, and villages in Southeast Missouri and Southern Illinois with a listing of their business owners, population figures, distances between towns, and civil officers. It also contains a U.S. legal directory, hotel directory, and brief history and
Presenting a brief statement of the special work, location, officers and necessities of the most prominent of such institutions; with a mention of such other organizations as look to public for support. A hand-book for charity workers and a ready reference book for the benevolent public., The digitization of this directory was made possible through the support of the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act as administered by the Missouri State Library, a division of the Office of the Secretary of State.
Construction of Cape Girardeau Bridge. 1927. View eastwardly from top of Span No. 1. Erecting steel from upper chord, showing rivet forge and traveler.
The enclosed pictures were taken during August 1981 on the Beardstown Illinois waterfront showing typical river scenes with the usual amount of tugs and other equipment. The B&N RR bridge in its river mode. The stern-wheel river tug is a locally built boat, original builders and name still showing = LOGSDON = built sometime in the 1930s more details could be obtained. These pictures were taken
Light on the River - August 18, 1880. The Steamer Chas. P. Chouteau, lying at the foot of Market street, attracted considerable attention along the levee last evening by its two electric lights, which shone forth with intense brightness. The Chouteau is the first steamer at this point on the Mississippi River to substitute an electric llight for the old fashioned pine-torch illuminators, and the
Construction of Cape Girardeau Bridge. 1927. Plan view of Pier No. 4 under construction. Checking alignment of pier and setting points for another 8 foot section of forms.
Cofferdam construction for Pier No. 4. Burning bolt holes along edges of 22' x 42' steel caisson for bolting bottom of wood cofferdam to top of caisson. Note material shaft near center of caisson.
Construction of the Cape Girardeau Bridge. 1927. Pouring concrete for seal of caisson Pier No. 2. Derrick boat handling door on material lock; compressor barge maintaining air pressure in caisson.
Buchon, Carez, and Beaupre. "Carte geographique, statistique et historique du Missouri." Paris: Carez, 1825 from those authors’ general atlas in French and essentially the same map as the Missouri map from "The Historical, Chronological and Geographical American Atlas." Philadelphia: Carey and Lea: 1823
The enclosed pictures were taken during August 1981 on the Beardstown Illinois waterfront showing typical river scenes with the usual amount of tugs and other equipment. The B&N RR bridge in its river mode. The stern-wheel river tug is a locally built boat, original builders and name still showing = LOGSDON = built sometime in the 1930s more details could be obtained. These pictures were taken
The Sectional Dock Company have now two complete Docks in successful operation, located at the foot of Lesperance Street. In connection with these Docks they have a Floating Saw Mill, with circular and upright saws and Planing Mill; and have recently added to their facilities a New Saw Mill on shore, 40 by 125 feet, on the most approved plan, with circular and upright saws, and planing mill. They
The Czech Sokol Ladies unit of the Red Cross at the Czechoslovak Society of America's National Hall in St. Louis on February 14, 1943. Donated to the St. Louis Mercantile Library by the Gymnastics Association Sokol.